Clinton Park PTO president is CPSD Parent of the Year

Carrie Miley is a familiar face at Clinton Park Elementary School.

As president of Clinton Park’s Parent Teacher Organization, Miley oversees student reward parties, fundraisers, hospitality and many other activities. On Thursday, she was named the Clinton Public School District’s 2018-19 Parent of the Year in a surprise presentation at Clinton Park.

“We are blessed to have parents like Mrs. Miley in our school helping out every day,” said Clinton Park Principal Kelli Pope.

Under her leadership, the Clinton Park PTO is growing and becoming more innovative. PTO board meetings are now live-streamed on the group’s Facebook page so that more parents can be involved; plans are under way for a Website that will allow members to give donations and sign up for volunteer opportunities online; and the PTO and school are working together on outreach efforts for English language learners and their families.

“We have the best public schools here in our hometown,” Miley said. “We want the best education possible for our children, and we chose CPSD for the level of education and available resources.”

Carrie and Matthew Miley have three children in Clinton’s public schools and one future Arrow in pre-school. As CPSD’s Parent of the Year, she will go on to represent Clinton in the Mississippi Parent of the Year competition hosted this spring by the Mississippi Department of Education.

“We have so many wonderful parents in our district,” said Dr. Tim Martin, superintendent of schools. “Mrs. Miley has done an outstanding job as Clinton Park PTO president and she will represent us well in the state competition.”

 The Clinton Public School District 2018-19 Parent of the Year is Carrie Miley (second from left). Presenting her award are (from left) Dr. Tim Martin, superintendent of schools; Clinton Park Principal Kelli Pope; and Assistant Superintendent Anthony Goins. 

Clinton Public School District Superintendent Tim Martin surprises Carrie Miley with the 2018-19 Parent of the Year award this morning at Clinton Park Elementary School.

Leave a Comment