Skip to content

Luss awarded inaugural achievement award at Hinds

Special to The Clinton Courier

Pictured (l to r) are Walter Washington Achievement Award winners Anahja Reed, Stanley Reed, Destiny Oscar, Kalundria MaGee, Omarion Luss, Madeline Jones, Tiara Jackson, Joya Hughes, Epiphany Hobbs and Ezekiel Harris of Canton. Not pictured are Iayesha Evans, Shymaya Dixon, Isaiah Fultz, Lauren Gatlin and Elizabeth Moss.

Omarion Luss of Clinton was recently recognized with an inaugural Walter Washington Achievement Award at Hinds Community College’s Utica campus. The award is given to students who, like Dr. Washington, strive for academic excellence, civic engagement and who are making a series of steps to lay the foundation for future Utica campus students.

Washington was the first African-American to receive a doctorate in Mississippi. He was president of what was then Utica Junior College for twelve years, from 1957-1969, before serving as president of Alcorn State University from 1969-1994.

Other students who received the award include Anahja Reed, Joya Hughes, Lauren Gatlin and Destiny Oscar of Jackson; Stanley Reed, Kalundria MaGee, Madeline Jones, Iayesha Evans and Shymaya Dixon of Utica; Tiara Jackson of Terry; Epiphany Hobbs of Southaven; Ezekiel Harris of Canton; Isaiah Fultz of Hazlehurst and Elizabeth Moss of Waynesboro.



Leave a Comment