C Spire Gillom/Howell Finalists Announced

Finalists for the 2020 C Spire Gillom and C Spire Howell Trophies have been announced. The trophies which go to the Most Outstanding Womens and Mens college basketball players in the state will be presented at a luncheon held at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame on Monday, March 9th. Once again fans will have a chance to help select the winner through a fan vote sponsored by C Spire. The fan vote counts for a weighted 10% of the final total. To vote fans may go to http://howellgillomvoting. hscampaigns.com to cast votes for their favorites. Statewide sports media select the finalists and account for the remaining votes for the winners

The C Spire Gillom trophy, named in honor of Ole Miss alum, Peggy Gillom, has been dominated by Mississippi State in recent years. Victoria Vivians won four straight during her career at Mississippi State and the 2019 winner was Teaira McCowan. The nationally ranked Lady Bulldogs once again lead the way with two finalists for this years award. Rickea Jackson and Jessika Carter of MSU and Quantesha Patterson of Delta State are the finalists. The 62Jackson leads the 245 Bulldogs in scoring at 14.7 points per game but is followed closely by Carter who averages an even 14. Carter is the leading rebounder for the Lady Dogs and has blocked 54 shots. Patterson tops the Lady Statesmen in many categories including scoring (16.6 per game) rebounding (13.2 per game) and field goal percentage (64.4%). Delta State, coached by Craig Roden is 206 overall and 122 in conference

The C Spire Howell trophy, honors former MSU and NBA star, Bailey Howell. Three dynamic offensive players have been selected as finalists for this years award. Reggie Perry of Mississippi State, Breein Tyree of Ole Miss and Ledarius Woods of Tugaloo are the players chosen to represent their schools. Tyree was a finalist in 2019 when Quinndary Weatherspoon was selected the winner. Perry leads the Bulldogs in scoring with a 17.4 points per game, has 25 steals and 32 blocks for the 1810 MSU squad. Breein Tyree a 62guard out of Somerset, NJ tops the Rebels averaging just over 20 per game and 

Ledarius Woods, the first finalist from Tougaloo College, is the top player for Coach Thomas Billups. The Tougaloo Bulldogs are 226 on the season and 112 in the GCAC. Woods, from Tunica, MS averages 21 per game. All stats are through February 28, 2020

Mississippi Sports Hall of Famer, Van Chancellor who has coached in high school, college and professional basketball will be the featured speaker at the banquet. Tickets are on sale on the museum website www.msfame.com or at the Hall of Fame business office

About C Spire C Spire is a leading technology company committed to transforming Mississippi through the C Spire Tech Movement initiative, launched in 2017 and designed to move communities forward through technology with a focus on broadband access, workforce development and innovation. The company provides worldclass, customerinspired wireless communications, 1 Gigabit consumer Internet access as well as a full suite of dedicated Internet, wireless, IP Voice, data and cloud services for businesses. This news release and other announcements are available at www.cspire.com/news. For more information about C Spire, visit www.cspire.com or follow us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/cspire or Twitter at www.twitter.com/cspire

About The Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame The Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame exists to promote, preserve and protect Mississippis rich sports heritage for this and generations to come. The Museum serves as a destination for sports legends to live forever through interactive displays and exhibits where visitors can play, live and dream. The 501(c)(3) organization recognizes excellence in athletics and contributions to sports. For more information about the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame & Museum, visit msfame.com or follow us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/mssportshofandmuseum or Twitter at www.twitter.com/mssportshof

(Written by: Bill Blackwell)

Leave a Comment