Mississippi College Indoor Track and Field Totals 17 Medals at GSC Indoor Championships

Mississippi College’s indoor track and field team grabbed some hardware at the Inaugural Gulf South Conference Championships with 17 total medals, including five championships while Daviciea McCartney and Tytavia Hardy each picked up special recognition from the championships. The Choctaws and Lady Choctaws each finished fourth in the team standings.

Hardy was named the Most Outstanding Women’s Overall and Field Performer while McCartney was recognized as the Most Outstanding Men’s Freshman Performer.

The Choctaws and Lady Choctaws combined for five individual conference titles during the two-day event as Rakeem Wilson and Hardy picked up day two crowns. Wilson won the men’s 200 meters with a time of 21.71 and added the men’s 400 title as he clicked in with a time of 49.50.

Hardy garnered her second event win of the championships as she took first in the women’s triple jump with a leap of 39’2.25. The sophomore won the long jump on Tuesday with a distance of 17’7. Marina Rizk joined Hardy on Tuesday with a win in the women’s pole vault with a distance of 11’5.75.

Along with her two event crowns, Hardy added a silver medal in the women’s high jump with a distance of 5’3. A.B. Williams claimed the second silver medal for Mississippi College in the men’s weight throw as he recorded a toss of 55’10.50. Al Ferrill brought home bronze in the event with a distance of 50’7.50. Ferrill’s third place finish was one of a combined 10 for Mississippi College during the two days.

McCartney placed third in the 400 with a time of 49.72 while Jake Russell grabbed third in the 800 meters with a time of 1:54.84. Russell also added a bronze in the men’s mile with a 4:16.38. Emma Langley took third in the women’s 800 as she clocked in a time of 2:16.85. McKenzie Hargorve also added a third-place finish with a time of 17:59.06 in the women’s 5,000 meters. The men’s 4×400 relay team concluded the event in third with a time of 3:21.40.

(Written By – Mississippi College Athletics)

Leave a Comment