Two Mississippi College Softball Players Named to GSC All-Decade Team

Mississippi College Athletics:

Clinton, Miss. – The Gulf South Conference Softball All-Decade Team was announced on Thursday July 16 with two Mississippi College Softball Players, Cori Cooper and Carly Crawford leading the way.

Cooper (Magnolia, Texas) earned GSC Pitcher of the Year honors in 2019 and helped lead the Lady Choctaws to the NCAA South Regional in Melbourne, Fla. She was also a First Team All-GSC selection in 2019 and a Second Team honoree in 2018.

In the South Regional in 2019, Cooper tossed a 17.0 innings in a single day in victories over Saint Leo and UAH to keep the Lady Choctaws’ season alive. She scattered 18 hits on the day, but allowed just four earned runs and struck out 10 batters.

For her career, Cooper went 25-12 with a 2.07 ERA and 263 strikeouts in 244 innings pitched. She is MC’s all-time leader in strikeouts per seven innings (7.55) and her 184 punchouts in 2019 is the second-highest total in school history behind Carlie Sargent (198 in 2016).

Crawford (Hattiesburg, Miss.) was a four-year starter behind the plate for MC, earning First Team All-GSC honors in each of her first three seasons. She was also an All-South Region honoree by both the D2CCA and NFCA in 2017 and 2019.

The power-hitting backstop also helped lead MC to the 2017 GSC Tournament Championship, taking home All-Tournament honors in her rookie season. The Lady Choctaws also qualified for the NCAA Tournament that season and went back in 2019 for the second time in school history in Division II.

For her career, Crawford’s name is all over the MC Softball record book, finishing third in doubles (37) and RBIs (122) and 4th in home runs (21), also ranking 2nd all-time in school history in hit-by-pitches (29). She also hit .332 for her career and made just 10 errors in 818 chances behind the plate.

The GSC All-Decade Awards factored in the contributions from the years 2010-19 and were jointly selected by institutional personnel, coaches and league administrators.

See: Mississippi College Athletics to Release All-Decade Teams


Leave a Comment